Testimonials

Are you ready for the NewYou

Francisco’s story

All my teenage life I was living and breathing basketball. However, my education suffered a lot because of it. Once I hit 16 years old, I had to catch up academically and gave up all my sports. This is when my weight started spiralling out of control. I’ve tried many different diets, but I’d soon give up and starting a new one became harder and harder. Even though I’m only 36 years old, I was feeling very tired very quickly, the excess weight was causing constant pains in my knees and feet. My two sisters had bariatric bypass surgeries and I could see how their lives, physical and mental health have improved immensely. I knew I had to do something quickly to improve my health, happiness and future.

Before the surgery

I’ve researched all possible options and came across dr. Antanas Mickevicius, one of the leading surgeons in this field in Europe. His experience, attention to detail, care and passion for his patients to succeed gave me confidence and trust to make this important step and give myself into his caring hands.

My NEWMAN Bariatric experience

The choice to change my life with NEWMAN Bariatric Clinic help was probably one of the best in my life. The hospital, health and care teams exceeded all my expectations with their knowledge, information provided, attention to details, latest equipment and personalised care before, during and after the surgery. During my trip and stay I felt safe, comfortable and looked after.

After the surgery

Although it’s only few weeks after the surgery, I can feel how my life is already changing for the better. My eating habits are under control, I already feel more energetic and experience less pain. This operation has given me a new chance in life to live better, healthier and happier.

Are you ready for the NewYou

Aileen’s story

Patients’ reviews

Get inspired by our patients’ stories and experiences
Image of Marina's testimonial
Surgery
Gastric Bypass
Image of Amanda's testimonial
Surgery
Gastric Sleeve
Image of Kate's testimonial
Surgery
Gastric Sleeve
Image of Carolina's testimonial
Surgery
Gastric Bypass
Image of Clara's testimonial
Surgery
Gastric Bypass
Image of Christine's testimonial
Surgery
Gastric Bypass
Image of Cheryl's testimonial
Surgery
Gastric Sleeve
Image of Brenda's testimonial
Surgery
Gastric Bypass

Agne, Ireland

Surgery
Gastric Bypass
Reviewed:
03 January 2018

The nursing team was very professional and compassionate and they made me feel like I am at home

As I struggled with losing weight for many years I have finally made a decision to go for a Gastric Bypass surgery. After a long research about the hospitals and surgeons available in Lithuania, I’ve chosen with great confidence Antanas Mickevičius and have never regretted my decision. Surgery went smoothly without any complications. Professor Antanas Mickevicius was very caring and informative. Aftercare was excellent. The nursing team was very professional and compassionate and they made me feel like I am at home. I will be forever grateful to Antanas Mickevičius and his amazing team for their excellent professionalism.

If the clinic was a hotel I would have given it a 5 star mark and beyond. It’s really Hi Tech and immaculately clean. The staff is very welcoming and assisted me in every step of the way pre op and after. The lady at the reception was even walking with me to every door where pre op tests had to be done. My post surgery room was en-suite with modern facilities and even brand new slippers and robe were supplied on my day of arrival. All the staff starting from reception to pre and post op care were simply amazing!

Vita, Iceland

Surgery
Gastric Bypass
Reviewed:
08 January 2018

The surgery was a success and post-surgery treatment was superb

I had been overweight for many years. I finally made a decision to undergo a stomach surgery to lose weight. After doing some research online I chose prof. Antanas Mickevičius and I honestly could not be happier. The surgery was a success and post-surgery treatment was superb. I’ll forever thank the professor and his brilliant team for their outstanding, sincere and very professional work. I underwent the surgery mid-December 2017 and just three weeks later I’ve already lost 8 kg. I feel great!

Neringa, UK

Surgery
Gastric Bypass
Reviewed:
20 February 2018

My eating has significantly decreased and therefore, i lost much weight

I would like to thank you for the perfect Gastric bypass surgery. All my stomach problems have disappeared, blood pressure has dropped, the amount of sugar in blood has become normal. I do not use any medications. After the surgery the amount of food I eat has significantly decreased and therefore, I lost much weight. I feel fantastic now. Thank you-you, professor.

Regina, UK

Surgery
Gastric Sleeve
Reviewed:
09 May 2018

Excellent hospital and first class service from beginning to end

I never thought I would go through bariatric surgery. All my life I’ve been on diets, pills etc. On May 2017 I had my laparoscopic sleeve resection on my stomach. Thank You Prof. Antanas Mickevicius for your hard work, listening and answering to my medical concerns fully. I was treated with respect and it was the knowledge and trust Prof. Mickevicius inspired that made me feel secure and in the best hands. I would highly recommend Prof Mickevicius and his medical team!

Excellent hospital and first class service from beginning to end. The facilities are very nice, modern and clean, meeting all the high standards.
The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay comfortable.

Scott, UK

Surgery
Gastric Sleeve
Reviewed:
09 May 2018

The nurses are just brilliant very attentive, friendly and are the push of a button away

Gastric Sleeve surgery: I chose prof Antanas Mickevicius after doing some research about having it done it the UK but the costs were very high and it would have meant taking finance out so started looking elsewhere. Having come across the Newman Bariatric website I started to do a lot of research around the surgeon and was pleased and reassured to find he also works in the UK for the NHS. I also verified his credentials on the General Medical Councils website with a positive return. I am now almost a week post op and the process has been very smooth and well organised. I am in excellent health and recovering really well (back at work after today after 6 days). Antanas Mickevicius is a very nice chap, personable, very knowledgeable and seems to have a done a cracking job with my sleeve.

The clinic used was just superb and I have absolutely no complaints at all. The team organised for my transfer from the airport to the hospital where a lady met me and took me around all the departments for my preoperative tests, blood tests, ECG, endoscopy, and endocrinology appointment. I was checked in my hotel 2.5 hours later. On the day a taxi took me to the hospital and again very smooth process. The day following I had a really good chat with the dietician who gave me all the instructions I needed going forward. The nurses are just brilliant very attentive and friendly and are the push of a button away. If only the NHS could operate like this! I would thoroughly recommend using Newman Bariatric and I know I made the right choice.

Sona, Germany

Surgery
Gastric Bypass
Reviewed:
22 July 2018

Excellent service from the beginning to the end

My experience in the clinic has been great. Professor Antanas Mickevičius is a very good doctor. The staff took very good care of me. The organizational process was perfect from A-Z. Particularly noteworthy is Viktoria. She just cares about everything. The operation went very well and bus now I have already lost 20 kg.

I am very satisfied with this result so far. Excellent service from the beginning to the end. This clinic and Professor Antanas Mickevicius are highly recommended. Many thanks for everything. Best regards.

Justina, UK

Surgery
Gastric Bypass
Reviewed:
16 August 2018

Surgery went smoothly and aftercare was absolutely brilliant

I was struggling to lose weight all my life and made a decision to have a weight loss surgery.

I was looking for a clinic in the UK, but since the price was quite high I’ve decided to shop around abroad and came across Newman Bariatric in Lithuania. On 2nd if August I had a Gastric Bypass surgery done by Prof. Antanas Mickevičius.

I made an online enquiry and coordinator got in touch with me. Coordinator was amazing from the very first contact and answered all my questions and concerns.

Prof. Antanas Mickevičius was very friendly, observant, and understanding. Surgery went smoothly and aftercare was absolutely brilliant. He did an amazing job and I’m really thankful. Prof. Antanas Mickevičius and staff have the best customer service I have ever experienced!

I highly recommend Newman Bariatric to anyone seeking a first-class surgeon for weight loss surgery.

Juan, Spain

Surgery
Gastric Bypass
Reviewed:
23 August 2018

The very attentive doctor explained what he was going to do and answered all our questions

Everything went well – from the reception at Kaunas airport, the next day all preoperative exams were well organized, as was the stay at the clinic. A friendly young woman welcomed us and accompanied us in the clinic from one appointment to another. The very attentive doctor explained what he was going to do and answered all our questions. Before the surgery we also had the visit of an anesthetist, asking questions about allergies etc. After the operation, we visited a nutritionist doctor who explained everything extensively and gave us a brochure on dieting after surgery. The nurses were also very attentive.

Justin, UK

Surgery
Gastric Bypass
Reviewed:
15 November 2018

A highly qualified physician / surgeon who clearly cares about his patients

Very professional and efficient. All administrative issues were taken into account and post operative care was provided by a comprehensive, compassionate and caring medical team. Surgery was performed by Professor Antanas Mickevičius, a highly qualified physician / surgeon who clearly cares about his patients. In short, couldn’t have asked for better service and surprisingly cost effective when compared to vendors in Asia and others in Europe. Excellent result for my gastric sleeve and again, couldn’t be happier with the results.

A.R., UK

Surgery
Gastric Bypass
Reviewed:
23 January 2019

Your health is their main priority and I felt that from the get-go

I went to this clinic for bariatric surgery didn’t know what they would find as I had a band removed (fitted and removed in UK) I picked this clinic after researching the surgeon Mr Mickevicius who also works in the UK and was registered with GMC. Pre-surgery I had unlimited contact with manager who answered my million questions and booked me taxis and hotel. I had a face time session with the surgeon and we discussed my options and thought process behind why and what I wanted. When I went to clinic I had no idea what to expect and I did think “why am I doing this” but after visiting the clinic was at ease. I met my manager who was superb and talked me through what was happening I had blood taken weight taken an ECG and an endoscopy. After that to a bedroom in the clinic where I met the surgeon and we went through my surgery choices. My anaesthetist came in lovely young lady talked me through what she was going to do and put me at ease before she knocked me out for my op. I then went through for my surgery and woke up back in my room. I had plenty of checks from the nursing staff who are extremely caring.

The surgeon came to say all went well and I got the surgery of my choice. I stayed two nights in the hospital and Mr Mickevicius would check in on me and also call up the staff to ensure my recovery. After I was checked up I was released and went to my hotel but decided to go a little walk. I felt tired but I was in no pain, in fact, less pain than when I had my band in the UK. I received texts from my manager checking up on me to ensure I wasn’t overdoing it and that I was ok. I had surgery on monday flew back the Saturday and still in contact with the team. The whole process was easily understood there were lots of discussions it was not just a transaction. The cost of this surgery is half price of the UK this was not my main driver for going abroad. When I had my band fitted in the UK and it failed the NHS bounced me around not wanting to touch anything as it was done privately albeit an NHS surgeon it was bonkers.

Without hesitation, I would recommend this clinic surgeon and team. The clinic is immaculate the team professional and the service exceptional. Your health is their main priority and I felt that from the get-go. I am 5 weeks post op down 25lbs 2 dress sizes off 2 high bp meds and wounds all healed. I still contact my nutritionist with questions which he responds to quickly. A big thank you to the team.

Joana, Ireland

Surgery
Gastric Bypass
Reviewed:
04 February 2019

It was the best decision I’ve ever made for myself

First of all I would like to say a big Thank You to Dr. Professor Antanas Mickevicius and his amazing team! I highly recommend this private clinic in Kaunas and Dr. Professor A. Mickevicius and all of his professional team for anyone who is looking for a gastric bariatric surgery done. It was the best decision I’ve ever made for myself, it’s like a dream come true and life changing thing in a good way! I feel amazing after all, my health is improving, and I started to get so many compliments from the people around me. It’s been 4 months since I have undergone the gastric bypass surgery and so far I have lost 25 kg from the very start of this journey.

I had obesity problems since I was 19 years old, I have tried many different weight loss pills, diets, personal meal plans, but after losing a little bit of weight, I was never successful to keep it off. I was nearly 40 years old when I decided to go for gastric bypass surgery. After some researches I decided to contact Dr. A. Mickevicius, because he is extremely professional, friendly and understanding, also the surgery package cost only 5000€, including some pre-op tests, consultation with professor A.Mickevicius, surgery by itself, aftercare and few days stay in a comfortable, very clean private room, consultation with dietitian and follow up.

All I had to do, was to get travel tickets to Lithuania, Kaunas and to find a hotel where to stay for a few days after the surgery. All this time, my surgery coordinator was very helpful and she guided me through and still is, she sent to me lots of information about the surgery, also she organised the first consultation with Dr. A. Mickevicius through Skype which I thought was very handy, time and money saving consultation, because I live in Ireland.

The clinic is modern and very clean. Only the best experience I had, and if any other people are having the same overweight problem which I had and want to make a life-changing – saving decision, I would highly recommend Dr. Professor Antanas Mickevicius and his amazing team.

Danny, Ireland

Surgery
Gastric Bypass
Reviewed:
30 January 2020

Staff are working very well and I am very happy with the service

Excellent service from start to finish. Staff are working very well and I am very happy with the service.

Joanne, UK

Surgery
Gastric Sleeve
Reviewed:
02 August 2020

I feel like a new person

I travelled from England to Lithuania February 2019 for my gastric sleeve, I was a nervous wreck as expected, I was met at the airport by a very friendly driver from the hospital who drove me to my hotel. My manager was amazing she was available on her mobile phone for any concerns from me booking my procedure to coming home, her customer care skills are excellent and was by my side through my hospital stay, and still available now 17 months down the line if needed regarding any post-op problems. Surgeon Antanas Mickevičius and his nursing team were excellent, caring, and gave 100 per cent patient care 24 hours a day, I can’t thank them enough, surgeon was available at any time during my stay and even came to see me in the middle of the night post-op. The hospital was amazing, very clean, nursing care was tremendous I was treated like a queen. From pre-op to discharge, I couldn’t fault a thing. The only regret I have I didn’t do it years ago. I weighed 21 stone went I entered Lithuania and now I weigh 12 stone 7, I feel like a new person, my confidence is great, and thank you so much Dr. Antanas Mickevičius and all the people involve.

Peter Smith, UK

Surgery
Gastric Bypass
Reviewed:
29 August 2020

I was out of bed the next day and recovery so far has been swift

I travelled from the UK to have revision surgery from a Gastric Plication to a Gastric Bypass. I had contacted several clinics and despite mentioning revision surgery on the websites, none of them seemed keen when I asked for further details.

I received a very fast response from coordinator who helped me throughout the process. The week I was due to fly to Lithuania, the UK got added to the list of countries which required visitors to undergo 14 days isolation due to COVID-19 levels. Coordinator helped to make sure that I had somewhere to isolate and that the surgery still went ahead. She filled out all of the government forms due to isolation and arranged all of the transport required.

Prof Antanas Mickevičius is a highly skilled surgeon. He explained the different options for the revision surgery beforehand and gave me a choice if he found issues from the previous operation. I was out of bed the next day and recovery so far has been swift.

MC, UK

Surgery
Gastric Plication
Reviewed:
02 October 2020

Great service

From the time I arrived since I left everything was planned.
Highly recommended.

Agne, UK

Surgery
Revisional Surgery
Reviewed:
03 April 2021

I am really happy my choice for this…

I am really happy my choice for this clinic, its amaizing stuff service making more easy and comfortable yout trip all the time. Big thanks for Viktorija, Paule, Professor Mickevicius and amaizing stuff in hospital… Its more then amaizing all so friendly and carefull. Its really help for people if you come from another City or Country its perfect servis from taxi, hotel if you need, escort till operation they not leave you for 1 min Viktorija or Paule will be with you all the time. Less stress, and all questions will be answered… Recommended 100% GOOD LUCK!!!

Emily, Ireland

Surgery
Gastric Plication
Reviewed:
05 July 2021

Thank you for everything

From the start, my surgery coordinator Paule helped me with any concerns I had. I was anxious as I had never been to Lithuania but Paule was understanding every step of the way. She organised all of my appointments too which made the experience less stressful. When I got to the clinic, the doctors and nurses were helpful and lovely. My bariatric surgeon Antanas Mickevicius explained everything to me and took the time to sit down and check in on me until i was discharged. I felt and still feel confident in my decision. The surgery went great and I feel good post op! I really recommend Newman Bariatric Clinic.

Carly Pook, UK

Surgery
Gastric Sleeve
Reviewed:
29 July 2021

Excellent care

Excellent service. Pre booking all my questions were answered promptly by one of the coordinators. After confirming surgery and paying Paule the coordinator promptly handled everything. Every detail was taken care of. Transport was waiting on arrival at kaunas Airport. The hotel apartment provided was only 5 mins from the hospital. It was excellent with modern facilities and a garden terrace. The hospital its self was brilliant, extremely clean, modern and welcoming. Everything was explained every step of the way, Paule the Coordinator was there to guide us through the pre op process. Both the consultant and anesthesiologist were friendly and explained everything brilliantly. The nursing care was superb, above and beyond, there were excellent staffing levels which allowed them to deliver a superior level of care. I would highly recommend Newman clinic to anyone considering surgery.

Maureen, Ireland

Surgery
Gastric Sleeve
Reviewed:
31 August 2021

From the moment I first contacted Newman Bariatric I received professional and prompt responses

From the moment I first contacted Newman Bariatric I received professional and prompt responses. The coordinator Paule was always ready to answer any question and she also made all the arrangements while keeping me in the loop all the time. On arrival in Kaunas I was met and brought to the apartment after a little hiccup with the rooms I would have no other complaint (for some not having a walk in shower may be a problem). Paule checked in with me everyday untill the day of the pre -op and surgery where she met me at the clinic.

Stephanie, UK

Surgery
Gastric Bypass
Reviewed:
03 September 2021

I’m hoping to return to Lithuania next year for a tummy tuck/arm lift and would honestly recommend Newman Bariatric to everyone

I had a gastric bypass on July 7th 2021 and have already lost 4 stone. The care I recieved from Paule, the surgeon and all staff involved was fantastic and the language barrier was never an issue (infact, the majority spoke v v good English!).

I had extensive tests done before surgery including many blood tests, an ecg and an endoscopy (you’re sedated so don’t worry).

The surgeon repaired my hiatus hernia (for free) at the same time which alone has made a huge difference to my life and I woke up in no pain at all, only a slight discomfort and feeling like a heavy book was placed on my stomach. The nurses were available day and night during the stay to help with anything at all. I left hospital 2 days after surgery and didn’t need any pain killers etc from then. My coordinate has arranged my husbands and I’s accommodation which was very close by and extremely reasonably priced (€160 for the week). She also arranged taxis to and from the airport, for covid tests before and after the operation and to the hospital. I’m hoping to return to Lithuania next year for a tummy tuck/arm lift and would honestly recommend Newman Bariatric to everyone, the surgery has already made such a huge difference to my life in 2 short months.

Stacey Hamill, Scotland

Surgery
Gastric Bypass
Reviewed:
07 September 2021

I would highly recommend Newman to anyone

I had my gastric bypass on 25th August and have already lost a stone in 2 weeks.

I was understandably a little apprehensive about going abroad for surgery however it was the best decision.

Paule was there from start to finish from my initial enquiry to the day I left hospital to answer any questions and support me.
I had number of important tests prior to my surgery (prob more thorough actually than would get at home) and Paule came along with me to each appointment. Paule also arranged all the transfers to and from clinic and airport.

The surgery went without complications, I had some gas pain to be expected the days I was in hospital but wasn’t in pain, and the nursing staff were in regularly doing checks and topping up medication. I had my own private room and en-suite. It was spotless and the nursing staff were lovely, very attentive and spoke good English.
I would highly recommend Newman to anyone.